Directives & Regulations

WEEE is a huge spectrum of products from computers, printers and faxes, to washing machines, fridges and even fluorescent tubes.
The 10 categories of WEEE are:

  1. Large household appliances
  2. Small household appliances
  3. IT & telecommunications equipment
  4. Consumer equipment
  5. Lighting equipment
  6. Electrical and electronic tools
  7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment
  8. Medical devices
  9. Monitoring and control instruments
  10. Automatic dispensers

There are also 3 sub categories when WEEE 1-10 contains hazardous waste:

  1. Display Equipment
  2. Refrigeration Equipment
  3. Gas Discharge Lamps

The WEEE Directive is European environmental legislation. It aims to address the environmental impacts of WEEE, and to encourage its separate collection, and subsequent treatment, re-use, recovery, recycling and environmentally sound disposal.

The RoHS Directive on the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment 2002/95/EC; commonly referred to as the Restriction of Hazardous Substances Directive or RoHS) was adopted in February 2003 by the European Union. The RoHS directive took effect on 1 July 2006, and is required to be enforced and become law in each member state. This directive restricts the use of six hazardous materials in the manufacture of various types of electronic and electrical equipment. It is closely linked with the Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Directive (WEEE) 2002/96/EC which sets collection, recycling and recovery targets for electrical goods and is part of a legislative initiative to solve the problem of huge amounts of toxic e-waste

Subpages (4): Eco labels REACH RoHs WEEE